Korn were a major inspiration for me to move half-way across the world to follow my dreams of becoming a drummer, and will always have a special place in my heart!

Album: The Path of Totality

Released: December 6, 2011
Labels: Roadrunner

Album Cover – The Path of Totality (2011)

Korn (stylized as KoЯn) is an American nu metal band from Bakersfield, California, formed in 1993. The band’s current lineup includes founding members James “Munky” Shaffer (rhythm guitar), Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu (bass), Brian “Head” Welch (lead guitar, backing vocals), and Jonathan Davis (lead vocals, bagpipes), with the addition of Ray Luzier (drums), who replaced the band’s original member, David Silveria in 2007. Korn was originally formed by three of the members of the band L.A.P.D.


The Path of Totality is the band’s tenth studio album. Korn frontman Jonathan Davis describes the new album as “very well-rounded, with a mix of mellow, upbeat tracks; possibly the most well-proportioned Korn album of all time.” In a new biography on Roadrunner Records’ official website, Jonathan Davis declares The Path of Totality as “future metal.” “We’re mixing metal and electro music, and you’re not supposed to do that. Since day one, Korn has always been all about going against the grain, experimenting, and trying to take music different places.”

Jonathan Davis

Fun Fact

In 2007, after original drummer David Silveria had left, Korn hired many touring drummers including Joey Jordison of Slipknot. Jordison left due to preparation for the recording of Slipknot’s new album All Hope Is Gone. Consequently, Korn was then looking for a new drummer; and Luzier reportedly flew to Seattle to audition for Korn with James “Munky” Shaffer and Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu. When told to learn only five of their songs, Luzier learned 30. After an amazing audition, Luzier was immediately invited to join Korn.

Ray Luzier

Video Credits

Shot in my studio in Los Angeles
Released on Dec 22, 2011

Get Up