This song throws me back to high school again!

Album: Evil Empire

Released: April 16, 1996
Labels: Epic

Album Cover – Evil Empire (1996)

Rage Against The Machine is an American rock band from Los Angeles, California. Formed in 1991, the group consists of rapper and vocalist Zack de la Rocha, bassist and backing vocalist Tim Commerford, guitarist Tom Morello, and drummer Brad Wilk. They draw inspiration from early heavy metal instrumentation, hip hop acts such as Afrika Bambaataa, Public Enemy, and the Beastie Boys, punk rock such as the Sex Pistols and Fugazi, and Dutch crossover band Urban Dance Squad. Rage Against the Machine is well known for the members’ revolutionary political views, which are expressed in many of the band’s songs.

Rage Against the Machine at Vegoose, 2007. Left to right: Tim Commerford, Zack de la Rocha, Brad Wilk, Tom Morello.

Evil Empire is the band’s second studio album. The album’s title is taken from the phrase “evil empire”, which was used by former U.S. President Ronald Reagan and many conservatives in describing the former Soviet Union.

Brad Wilk of RATM

Fun Fact

When he left the band in 1999, vocalist Zack De La Rocha released a statement saying: “I feel that it is now necessary to leave Rage because our decision-making process has completely failed. It is no longer meeting the aspirations of all four of us collectively as a band, and from my perspective, has undermined our artistic and political ideal.”

Rage Against The Machine, 1991

Video Credits

Shot in my studio in Los Angeles
Released on Feb 10, 2012

Bulls on Parade